leeann: designer, all-around good person

she's pretty OK!

retrace

leave a comment »

Earlier this summer, and right before I came back to school, my family lost a longtime friend to suicide.

I’ve been sitting on this a long time, trying to figure out what to say along with this. I still don’t know, but if you are ever on the verge of committing a similar act –  get help.

For more about this and my process working on it, click through.

I believe I started on this the night I found out. Adam was someone I had known ever since I was a child. I hadn’t seen him in a few years, but he will always be a part of some of my earliest and fondest memories. This piece was, and is, important to me (important enough to put a watermark on, even). I don’t think I’m done with it yet.

The first sketch was quite small:

I knew I didn’t want to work with this as a final version. So I replicated the sketch much to more than several times its size, which also allowed me to simplify some of the lines and shapes……

Above is the second sketch and the copy I made of it, which I then placed behind yet another page and colored over to achieve the semi-lineless effect of the final version. The final version is, of course, at the top of the post. I’m pleased enough with the result that I’d like to try this technique again. I’m not quite over this and I’m certainly not done with this piece yet either.

Written by leeannelias

August 6, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

